I have happily worked 10 beaches so far, pebbles underfoot or sand between the toes! No worries.
However today a beach I 'activated' was made of shell & aggregate over rock, with no anchoring points to support a pole or reliably secure a peg for guys. Rather than giving up I retreated to a beach shelter on the cliff top overlooking the beach. Is this a valid 'beach activation'?
It is my pedantic nature forcing me to ask, I wouldn't want to claim for something that was outwith the rule or even spirit of the award! I would rather return with additional/different kit & rework the beach for an honest claim, this session could be used for a general /p award claim.
So our definition of a 'beach' for the purpose of the awards, is my question.