Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Multipla awards in one activation

  1. #1
    Membership #: 321 Free member LA4TTA's Avatar
    Name
    Erlend
    Join Date
    11th Aug 2015
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Multipla awards in one activation

    I assume that if i where to spend the night, at an beach on an uninhabited island, qso'ing that that activation would go towards at least four awards.

    Would it suffice to do the write-up in one thread and link to that post in the other threads, or should I do the elaborate writing in each thread?

    73

    Erlend
    LA4TTA
    73
    de
    LA4TTA
    Erlend

  2. #2
    Membership #: 84 Free member Award Moderator G0DZB's Avatar
    Name
    PeterO
    Join Date
    25th Apr 2015
    Location
    Colchester JO01lv
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    I don't think so. The only case where an activation can be used for more than one thing is given below.

    https://www.arpoc.org/rules/18-award-rules.html

    9. Activation Reuse - Once an activation has been used for an award, it may not be used again to claim another award. There is an exception to this rule in the case of cumulative awards (Bronze, Silver and Gold series) where the activations from a Bronze award are allowed to count towards a Silver and the activations from a Silver are allowed to count towards a gold award in the same category.
    Best 73 tu
    Peter G0DZB

  3. #3
    Membership #: 321 Free member LA4TTA's Avatar
    Name
    Erlend
    Join Date
    11th Aug 2015
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    Dang.

    Should have read the rules better.

    Thank you for clearing that up.
    73
    de
    LA4TTA
    Erlend

  4. #4
    Membership #: 84 Free member Award Moderator G0DZB's Avatar
    Name
    PeterO
    Join Date
    25th Apr 2015
    Location
    Colchester JO01lv
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    Yes, but don't forget that you can return to a site multiple times as long as there is two weeks between activations and you visit other sites between reuses.
    PeterO
    G0DZB
    Best 73 tu
    Peter G0DZB

  5. #5
    Membership #: 321 Free member LA4TTA's Avatar
    Name
    Erlend
    Join Date
    11th Aug 2015
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    How far apart must two locations be?

    I have multiple nice sites in the wood behind my house, but they are all within the same 6 digit square JP20re.

    And for continue the example in the opening post. If one were to first activate the beach, than move the entire station to an more suitable camping site and rag-chew trough the evening, wold that count as two activations?
    73
    de
    LA4TTA
    Erlend

  6. #6
    Membership #: 2 Full Member Article Contributor
    Award Moderator
    M0LMK's Avatar
    Name
    Matt
    Join Date
    18th Mar 2015
    Location
    Kent - JO01ri
    Posts
    609
    Thanks
    292
    Thanked 78 Times in 53 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    Quote Originally Posted by LA4TTA View Post
    How far apart must two locations be?

    I have multiple nice sites in the wood behind my house, but they are all within the same 6 digit square JP20re.
    It's down to your own common sense but I would say it has to be a different 6 digit locator to count as a different location. In face, I'll adjust the rules to make that the requirement if no one has a problem with that.

    Quote Originally Posted by LA4TTA View Post
    And for continue the example in the opening post. If one were to first activate the beach, than move the entire station to a more suitable camping site and rag-chew through the evening, would that count as two activations?
    Yes, so long as the 6 digit locator was different.
    Matt - M0LMK


  7. #7
    Membership #: 321 Free member LA4TTA's Avatar
    Name
    Erlend
    Join Date
    11th Aug 2015
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    I agree. If we need to define it this is a good way to do it.
    73
    de
    LA4TTA
    Erlend

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to LA4TTA For This Useful Post:

    M0LMK (31st May 2016)

  9. #8
    Membership #: 84 Free member Award Moderator G0DZB's Avatar
    Name
    PeterO
    Join Date
    25th Apr 2015
    Location
    Colchester JO01lv
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    I think 6 digit squares are a bit big for this as they are over 2.5 miles a side! I have some spots I use that are with the same 6 digit square. Does this mean that you can only use each 6 digit square once every 14 days (or sooner with other spots in a different 6 digit square in between) ?
    PeterO
    Best 73 tu
    Peter G0DZB

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to G0DZB For This Useful Post:

    M0LMK (31st May 2016)

  11. #9
    Membership #: 2 Full Member Article Contributor
    Award Moderator
    M0LMK's Avatar
    Name
    Matt
    Join Date
    18th Mar 2015
    Location
    Kent - JO01ri
    Posts
    609
    Thanks
    292
    Thanked 78 Times in 53 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    Good point Peter.

    Any ideas on how we can narrow it down and prevent members just picking up the kit, walking for 5 minutes and claiming a different location? Do we even need clarification or what constitutes a different location or should it just be down to the member to decide?
    Matt - M0LMK


  12. #10
    Membership #: 84 Free member Award Moderator G0DZB's Avatar
    Name
    PeterO
    Join Date
    25th Apr 2015
    Location
    Colchester JO01lv
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts

    Re: Multipla awards in one activation

    I think there are several aspects to consider. I'll give it some thought.
    PeterO
    Best 73 tu
    Peter G0DZB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •